The Playlist to rule all other Playlists

Friends, Romans, Countrymen! Lend me your ears, or rather, lend me your fabulous taste in music.

Over the past couple of days I’ve been trying to compile a sufficiently upbeat and cheery playlist to help me through my chemotherapy course and to give me spirit when I need it most. The mood options on Spotify have been very helpful with this task (I especially like the air-punch one – god knows I love a good air-punch).

So here’s my challenge to all of you. Please tell me your one favourite uplifting song that just makes you really damn happy and like everything is right in the world. It can be as cheesy or as pretentious as you like, I will not judge.

You can either comment on this post with suggestions or let me know through Facebook.

In other news, I’m half way through finishing my Lego pet shop. Now I’m not talking like standard Lego. We’re talking expert Lego (16+ thank you very much). Yeah, I don’t fuck around. Also, nearly swept the floor with my Dad in a game of Trivial Pursuit, might have to brush up a bit more though.

By the time I get out of here I’m going to be one hell of an activities buff. Feeling bored, Flo Kleiner’ll fix that. She’s got a solution to every boredom problem you could imagine.

I’m also trying to work out how to rotate these videos of me dancing to Hairspray songs so you can all laugh at how great I am at lip syncing (honestly I could so take on RuPaul and Jimmy Fallon). You might have to wait to see that though as I try to get my head around technology (chemo brain – it’s a thing, trust me).

Oh yes! I’ve also been super productive and am now on top of exactly which pills I take when and what they’re called and what they’re all for as well. So now I can be on it like a car bonnet and make sure the nurses are not poisoning me (they would never do that – they love me, obvs).

Had roast beef today!! Feeling pretty full and got good hair game. ngl.

Had roast beef today!! Feeling pretty full and got good hair game. ngl.

My DRUGSZ!!

My DRUGSZ list!!

Okey dokey. That seems to be all for today. Just being honest but nothing much is happening ‘maintenant’ (oh yeah, I know French). I might get platelets tomorrow which is exciting. I’ll be sure to document that experience for you all. In the mean time, think of me with fondness and the promise that tomorrow you’ll get to see another wonderful picture of my delicious face. Farewell (for now….)

26 thoughts on “The Playlist to rule all other Playlists

  1. Mine on spotify are: but I’m so old I won’t be offended if you don’t like them!!

    Moves like Jagger – Maroon five (great video as well) Carwash – Rose Royce Dancing in the moonlight- Top Loader Lovely Day – Bill Withers

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

    • Greatest ever feel-good pop songs… and proving old Albert right; “Smplicity really is Genius”:-
      A toss up between Twist and Shout (The Beatles), Stoned Love (The Supremes) and Sit Down (James)… but Love Shack must find away on to this playlist too (Coz of the lyrics and how can you not feel better after listening to it?)! Dxx

      Like

    • Hot and Cold – Los Colorados – many more of Los Colorados are worth a try. Patrick has many funny clips… The Jolly Boys are also very funny.

      Like

  2. This Kiss (the version by Carrie Hope Fletcher and Alex Day of YouTube – I know he was a dick but the song is sooo darn uplifting!) and Walking on Sunshine by Katrina and the Waves. Both of those are in my ‘Wake Up’ playlist….Oh, and White Nights by Oh Land! You’re such a superstar! xx

    Like

  3. Some are pretty cheesy but:
    happy-pharrell williams
    hey ya- outkast
    dancing in the moonlight- toploader
    feeling good- muchael buble
    fancy- iggy azalea
    september- earth wind fire
    get lucky- daft punk
    home- Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros
    I got U- duke dumont
    human nature- michael jackson
    juicy diner- DJ Fresch
    like a star- corinne bailey rae
    move on up- curtis mayfield
    put your records on- corinne bailey rae
    she’s a riot- jungle giants
    naive- the kooks
    still – jj
    treasure- bruno mars
    waiting all night- rudimental
    wanderlust (snakehips remix) – the weeknd
    warm water (snakehips remix)- banks
    we are the people- empire of the sun
    you & me (flume remix) – disclosure
    Holding me down (edward newgate remix) – mr baker
    our chance- mazde
    hot hands – darius
    sun don’t shine ( cover)- angie12345678 (you will only find this one on soundcloud)
    gold (snakehips bootleg) – bondax
    crave you- fight facilities
    follow- Tom & Laura Misch

    Some of the songs I think you can only find on sound cloud but otherwise you’ll find them on youtube!

    Hope you find songs that you like x

    Like

  4. I really like Pharell Williams ‘Happy’ cheesy but it cheers me up .
    Love your blog!
    Keep going!
    Love Diana x

    Like

  5. Hi Florence ! We dont understand everything but we’ll continue to read you with pleasure !
    You could write in french sometimes !
    Nous t’embrassons très fort.
    With all our love 😘😘😘
    Xxx

    Sophie 👩
    Emmanuel 👨
    Paul 👶
    Arthur 👦
    Joséphine 👸

    Like

  6. Hi Flo. What a great idea! I hope you get a really good selection so you can find some that you love. My current favourite is Pharrell Williams’ “Happy” (corny but true!). I asked my son and he suggested Stevie Wonder’s “Sir Duke” (great if you love vibrant trumpet and sax sounds!). You are in my thoughts xxx

    Like

  7. Two oldies but goodies from an old person – (Maria Vidal) – Body Rock and the Girls Just want to have Fun by Cindy Lauper (first and original version) – got loads more if you want!

    Like

  8. Do I Love You (Indeed I Do) Frank Wilson
    1-2-3 Len Barry
    Let Your Yeah Be Yeah The Pioneers
    54-46 That’s My Number Toots and the Maytalls
    Heaven Must Have Sent You The Elgins
    Shake Yo Tail Feather Ray Charles
    Do You Love Me The Contours
    Sweet Soul Music Arthur Conley
    Sheena is a Punk Rocker The Ramones

    Like

  9. Hi Flossy,
    I think Ollie ‘streak of piss’ Spencer has probably been Friend-Facing with you but I thought I’d put pen to paper too, in fact more than that: Once a week I will suggest a favourite energizing, uplifting track to take you higher (so it makes you squeal like a pig)! This week’s absolute gem-tastic track is by the late and great Johnny Guitar Watson and it’s AIN’T THAT BITCH (mmm, someone doin’ something slick…) Sadly, it’s not available ‘properly’ on Spotify and is missing the gorgeous Hammond intro, but fear not – if you give me your email I will MP3 it over to you.
    Lots of love, Peter, Karen, Ollie & Ringo. x

    Like

  10. Flossy your bravery shines through in this blog. I hope I would have the strength to keep motivated like you are. I will send you music that I hope is fresh to your ears, it may not be cheesy sing along stuff but they are all songs that have been with me at special times in my life, the kind of music that you can close your eyes and be transported to another county or another world. I will call it
    Deep Rhythm Hypnotherapy.

    Track 1 = 4HERO – PLANETARIA https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wSpLT2fTkCg

    Like

  11. Well, the first song that came into my head was” If I Ruled The World” by Harry Secombe……(sorry Flo, but I cant resist my songs from the shows) or how about “The Candy Man” by Sammy Davis Jnr? To bring things a little up to date (but not much) “Aint No Mountain High Enough” Tammi Terrell and Marvin Gaye……… Laters xx

    Like

  12. Hi Flossy,
    I think Ollie ‘so-much-taller-than-dad’ Spencer has probably been Friend-Facing with you but I thought I’d put pen to paper too, in fact more than that: Once a week I will suggest an energizing, uplifting track or beautiful track to take you higher (sometimes SO funky it’ll make you squeal like a pig)! This week’s absolute gem-tastic track is by the late and great Johnny Guitar Watson and it’s AIN’T THAT BITCH (mmm, someone’s doin’ something slick…) Sadly, it’s not available ‘properly’ on Spotify and is missing the gorgeous Hammond intro, but fear not – if you give me your email I will MP3 it over to you.
    Lots of love, Peter, Karen, Ollie & Ringo. x

    Like

  13. Hi Flossy. Here a Youtube to Johnny Guitar Watson doin’ his thang!

    We may be groovin’ here babe but we’re thing of you too…
    P K O & Ringo de dawg. xxxx

    Like

  14. Hi Florence, loving your blog. Music is a great reminder of all the good things that happen to us. Dancing in the moonlight by Toploader and the violins at the start of Bittersweet Symphony by The Verve (played loud). Anything by Barry White gets my feet taping, Thanks for making remember all these and keep up the good work :):) xx

    Like

  15. Deep Rhythm Hypnotherapy
    Floss i’m so sorry about Uncle Ron, he was a great man and will be sorely missed, always the jolly add on to any family gathering, i have great memories of him.
    Also apologies for the delay in up dating this play list, its been rather hectic here and i’ve been working away for the last 10 days too.
    Track 3 = SOLSTICE – BRIAN BENNETT

    Like

Leave a Reply

